About the UC Davis Forums

The UC Davis Forums distinguished lecture series (formerly The Provost's Forums) is designed to promote informed and thoughtful dialogue among members of the campus community and the public about the serious challenges facing the public university, ways of responding to those challenges, and how the public university is evolving. With an ultimate goal of helping to produce a public university that will best serve society and individuals, this series poses the following question: What should and can the public university be in the 21st century?

Established by the Office of the Provost in 2012, and directed by a rotating faculty Steering Committee drawn from different UC Davis colleges and schools, the UC Davis Forums series presents about six lectures by distinguished visiting and/or resident speakers each year, often in conjunction with a panel discussion by UC Davis faculty and always including a period for audience questions and comments. Featured speakers may also participate in related workshops and classroom visits during their time on campus.

Designed to leverage diverse and often conflicting scholarly perspectives to inform, focus, and advance the current dialogue on the public university, the forums feature experts from a wide range of academic fields, including sociology, education, economics, law, and STEM, among others.

Regular funding for the forums is provided by the Office of the Provost, the Community and Regional Development Program, and the Center for Regional Change. Additional funding for individual forums comes from other campus units.

Nominate future speakers

All interested members of the UC Davis community are urged to suggest one or more speakers for 2022–23. For more information, see the “Call for Proposed Speakers.”


Director and Series Sponsor

Mary Croughan
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, UC Davis

Steering Committee (2021–22)

Raquel Aldana
Professor of Law, UC Davis

Scott E. Carrell
Professor of Economics, Faculty Athletics Representative, UC Davis

Marcela Cuellar
Assistant Professor in Higher Education Leadership, School of Education, UC Davis

Jonathan Eisen
Professor, Department of Evolution and Ecology, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, and Genome Center, UC Davis

Ralph J. Hexter
Distinguished Professor of Classics and Comparative Literature, Former Provost, Interim Chancellor, and Acting Chancellor, UC Davis

Martin F. Kenney
Distinguished Professor, Department of Human Ecology and Community & Regional Development Program, UC Davis (committee chair)

Maisha Winn
Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Programs, Chancellor's Leadership Professor, and Co-Director of Transformative Justice in Education Center, UC Davis


Craig Buckwald
Office of the Provost, UC Davis

Series Coordinator

Emily Hovda